Isabel Villanueva / Antonio Ruz

This project is born from the desire of violist Isabel Villanueva and choreographer Antonio Ruz to collaborate in a multidisciplinary stage performance that opens a new window to classical music and contemporary dance.

This crossroads of languages presents an unbiased dialogue among sound, movement, voice, objects and light (or the absence thereof). A dramatised concert? A choreographed viola recital? With a polished aesthetic concept and lighting design, the beautiful and complex sound architecture of the pieces/music miniatures by composers György Kurtág and Johann Sebastian Bach, masterfully interpreted by Isabel, will merge with the physical score proposed by Antonio; a dramaturgy floating between the dream-like, the poetic and the disturbing. In this atmosphere of accompanied solitude, Isabel and her viola, guarded by Antonio (her alter ego, her shadow, her consciousness), will embark on a physical and emotional journey that won’t leave anyone indifferent.

‘She plays sitting down, she walks, she climbs on the table, she dances, she lies down, she sleeps, she floats, she runs, she screams, she looks at herself in the mirror, she undresses, she turns on the light, she closes her eyes, she smiles…’


Giorgi Kurtág (1926).

‘Signs, Games and Messages’ for viola solo

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750).

Partita No. 2 BWV 1004 for violin solo

(viola version)

Musical direction and live performance (viola) Isabel Villanueva Stage direction, choreography and performance Antonio Ruz Lighting design Olga García – AAI Costume and stage design Compañía Antonio Ruz Artistic accompaniment Julián Lázaro Production Paola Villegas, Gabriel Blanco – Spectare Distribution Valeria Cosi – Tina Agency Communication and media Marta Baeza – La Locomotora Promotional photography Agustín Hurtado Promotional video BuenaSombraFilms Behind the scenes photography and video La Famosa Productora

With the support of C.C Sanchinarro and Centro de Cultura Contemporánea Conde Duque, Madrid.